2019 Lok Sabha Election: Election Commission Announces Dates And Decides Not To hold Assembly Polls in J&K

 Election Commission today announced the dates for 2019 Lok Sabha elections in a press conference held at Delhi Vigyan Bhawan. Shortly after the announcement PM Narendra Modi took to Twitter, on Sunday, March 9 asking first time voters to ensure historic turnout on the day of elections. 

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora, in a presser held at 5 p.m, by the Election Commission of India, gave out the guidelines while he informed that the code of conduct had come into force, which means no more schemes can be announced by the ruling party.

"Examination schedules of all state boards and factors like festivals and harvest season were taken into consideration while fixing poll dates, " Sunil Arora said, while announcing the poll dates. This year around 900 million citizens will participate in the elections.

This is the 17th Lok Sabha Election and Elections will also be held in four states -Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and Odisha along with the parliamentary polls. 

The elections will be held in seven rounds ● April 11 -Phase 1-91 seats ● April 18 - Phase 2-97 seats ● April 23 - Phase 3-115 seats ● April 29 -Phase 4-71 seats ● May 6 - Phase 5-51 seats ● May 12 - Phase 6-59 seats ● May 19 - Phase 7-59 seats The results will be announced on 23rd May.

In the elections that were held last year in December Congress won the three major state namely Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh.

 According to some opinion polls BJP support is gradually decreasing and the opposition can put up a good fight. Though the recent air strike and the strong responses by Modi government against terrorism has resulted in the increase of BJP popularity and it is hinted that Narendra Modi have ensured his next term in the office.

EC also announced that the Assembly election in the state of Jammu and Kashmir would not be held with Lok Sabha election 2019. The state is under the rule of the Governor since the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) pulled out of an alliance with Mehbooba Mufti’s People’s Democratic Party in June 2018.

“The Commission has been constantly accessing the prevailing condition in the state. Based on input, the constraint of availability of central forces and other logistics, the requirement of forces for security of candidates in wake of recent violence and keeping other challenges in mind EC has decided at this stage to announce only schedule of Parliament election in J&K, ” CEC said.

“The Commission has conducted several rounds of meeting with state administration as well as MHA secretary. In the totality of these views, the commission has decided at this stage to announce only the schedule of the parliament election, ” he said.

In 2014, PM Modi's BJP became the first party in three decades to win a majority on its own; it won 282 of the 543 seats in Lok Sabha, where the majority mark is 272. The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) won 336 seats. Congress was reduced to merely 44 seats. The term is due to end on 3rd June.

Election in 7 Phases

General Elections will be held in 7 phases

General Elections in Karanataka State will be held in two phases

The Lok Sabha's 16th term will end on April 3 and the results will be announced on May 23.

Current rating: 5